Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

A2 Restricted - how does it feel?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

StevieP
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 14:15 - 18 Oct 2019    Post subject: A2 Restricted - how does it feel? Reply with quote

Hi

A total newbie question here, Embarassed

I have completed my CBT and am looking to do my mod 1 and 2 next.

I am of an age where I can do A2 or DA path. I am also able to use the schools bike. The have a "Japanese 650 restricted" for the A2 and "Japanese 650 unrestricted" for A, both the same model.

As a new rider, even though I am old enough to ride a larger bike, I was going to get a 400cc for a couple of years and then larger if i wanted. I have however been advised (by the school), that if I do the DA on the unrestricted bike then "all done, less faff", which does appeal.

So my question is if the bikes are the same make and model, they will have same brakes, same size, same weight, same handling; What about the restriction, how does it work? Does it limit torque all through the revs? or does it feel exactly the same with the same acceleration with a little twist just the grip only goes 3/4 of the way round?

Many Thanks

Steve P
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Fizzoid
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:22 - 18 Oct 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not directly answering your question, but...

It's the same test, same price, and may well be taken on the same model bike, so why would you want to take the A2?

StevieP
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 14:29 - 18 Oct 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fizzoid wrote:

It's the same test, same price, and may well be taken on the same model bike, so why would you want to take the A2?

Hi Fizzoid, I am a shortass, I am looking at a running a smaller bike. Why stress myself on doing a test on a bigger bike.