Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Passed CBT - Get a 125 or do DAS

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

joshua725538
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 16:21 - 24 Oct 2019    Post subject: Passed CBT - Get a 125 or do DAS Reply with quote

Hey, new here, but been enjoying the forum last few weeks and signed up today!

I passed my CBT and doing my theory in 2 weeks and I'm debating whether or not to get a 125 getting more practice or just go for the DAS (27year old).

I have some background in riding ATV's, Dirt bikes and did good in the CBT, my only concern is that I'm not too smooth on gears, as with dirt bikes it's always quite aggressive and high rev's. I've also been driving since 17 & cycled in London a lot, so lane placement is not such a concern.

Interested to see what people think here - any input would be appreciated

Easy-X
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 16:51 - 24 Oct 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get a 125 - doesn't have to be anything nice if you're intending to get a full licence in a few months but get all the experience on the road you can. It's either that or end up shelling out more money to the riding school...

When I did my Mod 2 there was another guy who didn't take the training - just came along to do the test. Thing is, not only was he not used to the particular bike we were using (MT07) he didn't even own a bike Shocked Turns out the last time he'd been on two wheels was ~3 weeks before when he'd failed his last Mod 2.

So which one of us do you think passed that day? Wink

Andy_Pagin
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 17:35 - 24 Oct 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rode around for a year on a 125 before doing DAS, it's well worth it for the experience you gain, the full A test is then just a ride on a bigger bike.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Teflon-Mike
tl;dr