Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

New rider - rear brake

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Prottecttor
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 14:53 - 03 Nov 2019    Post subject: New rider - rear brake Reply with quote

Hey all !

Im a fairly new rider, done around ~1000km so im still a big newbie and learning. I had a situation on a bike with really bad tires ( i probably should not even sit on that motorcycle back then ) where any decent breaking with rear brake ended up in locking the wheel. It scared me couple of times , happily never went down but the fear is still there.
Now i am riding my NSR 125, good brand new tires, new break pads, brake discs in nearly perfect condition. The thing is i have a phobia and im scared AF to brake with rear. I've done around 400 km on this bike without using the rear brake like EVER. I have never felt any need to brake with rear however i think this might be mistake. This will probably lead to me doing mistakes on bigger bike in the future by not using the rear at all. So please tell me how should i overcome this stupid fear and when to use rear brake and use it good.

recman
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:12 - 03 Nov 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll use the rear in conjunction with the front for slowing down at higher speeds but I don't use the it around town.
Don't stamp on it, be smooth.
Keep in mind that it's only the front brake assist.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

pinkyfloyd
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 19:30 - 03 Nov 2019    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only time I use rear brake when I am not teaching is.... oh wait I dont.

For a novice rider the rear brake at anything below 10mph or for slow control. Anything faster just for slowing down in a hurry as an extra brake along with the front.