Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Bike maintenance

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat
View previous topic : View next topic  

the_eel
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 17:41 - 18 Jan 2020    Post subject: Bike maintenance Reply with quote

Newbie rider, middle aged, spent 8 years doing the commute on a 50cc (actually it was 49cc lol) but have aging relatives that live a couple of hours away so I needed to step up to something that won't mind doing motorway miles.

so I bought a Yamaha ybr 125 and will need to get something bigger when I (hopefully!) get my full bike license. I never thought I'd get excited by a bike but I chuffing love it! it scares the shit out of me sometimes, though!

I love my bike so want to keep her in good nick. are there websites / youtube videos anyone could recommend that will help me keep her maintained? I have no experience at all but want to learn. I really need a regular schedule that I can stick to and look out for.

thanks Smile

Pete.
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 17:58 - 18 Jan 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grease the chain, pump the tyres, change the oil with regularity. Wash off road grit this time of year but don't go mental around the brake calipers with a jet wash.

132.9mph off and walked away. Gear is good, gear is good, gear is very very good Very Happy
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website You must be logged in to rate posts

stinkwheel
Bovine Proctologist

PostPosted: 18:08 - 18 Jan 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buy the haynes manual. It will have a list of routine maintainance tasks in the first section including when and how to do them.

The Shaggy D.A.
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 18:54 - 18 Jan 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

This guy has some clear, straightforward Youtube videos on the YBR.

https://www.youtube.com/user/ngraphic/videos