Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Commuting to London on the A3

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

Swisscheese
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 19:50 - 24 Jan 2020    Post subject: Commuting to London on the A3 Reply with quote

Hello,

I'm new to biking and BCF. Wondered if anyone had some tips or advice on my commute.

Passed my CBT in the autumn last year and just started commuting at Christmas along the A3 from the Hindhead tunnel into London (Hammersmith and Euston). It's about 100 miles round trip each day.

I don't ride into London during rush hour at the moment, but do ride out during rush hour or late at night. I ride a CB125R naked/neo cafe.

Didn't think anything of the commute before getting the bike as I'm very familiar with the route as a cage passenger. I'm enjoying the discovery of biking so don't get me wrong, but riding my 125 seems very dodgy at times, especially in bad weather.

When I'm in London proper, I don't mind much. Even with agressive road cage types, I feel safe-ish since traffic rarely picks up to 30 and I can filter through the slowest stuff carefully and sometimes use bus lanes. Although a bit worried about getting crushed by lorry/bus or hitting a pisshead in the road. But overall, I love all the fun and advantages of going through London on a bike. Riding around town between Christmas and New Year was magic.