Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Mod 2 - A1 bike, what if my bike is slow to get to 60mph

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

A2WillDo
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 01:49 - 24 Feb 2020    Post subject: Mod 2 - A1 bike, what if my bike is slow to get to 60mph Reply with quote

Hi all

Quick question. I've been riding for a few years and decided to do my tests on my 125. There's several reasons for this, and eventually I will do the tests again on an A2 bike, but as my username says A2WillDo, I'm not really interested in anything beyond 400cc (and hope I never am!) I want to do the tests on my 125 for mainly 3 reasons, 1)no more CBTs, 2) lose the L plates 3) occasional pillion passenger use. other than that I'm happy with the 125 I have. Also a reason for waiting to do the A2 is I don't have a garage to store my bike, so the 125 I have is always kept outside (and pushed up and down big kerbs and through my garden gate!) and I want to wait until I have better arrangements before I get a bigger bike. The plan is to get myself through the A1 license and then redo the Mod 1 and 2 whenever I get my next bike.

So onto the question.. my bike is a Derbi Cross City 125, it's completely stock, it rides fine, it'll happilly cruise along at 40, 50 is usually no problem unless there's strong wind or up hill. But it struggles to get to 60 (probably because I'm on it!) it's worse if there's wind or going up hill (even if I downshift and then get to the top of each gear). It's not that I'm uncomfortable doing the speed or don't know how but the bike physically won't. There's nothing wrong with the bike, it's well maintained, according to Google top speed is around 65MPH - Is this going to be a problem for mod 2 on this bike? if so I may aswell not bother and just go for the A2 when I can.

Thanks all