Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Moody timepiece (genuine question)

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Dear Auntie BCF... Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

hellkat
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 23:45 - 29 Mar 2020    Post subject: Moody timepiece (genuine question) Reply with quote

I'm not sure how to tell a moody one from a real one, cos I have no experience (or interest) in these things.

I was going thru my ex-husbands personal effects and I found a watch which looks (to me) like any other cheap-shit old watch.

But it says "Rolex Oyster Perpetual" on it.

And it has one of those faces with three dials on it, numbers all around the outside, and too many windey things on the side. Its just one of those metallic-looking things, probably a fiver petrol station jobbie rather than one of your 20 grand things, cos he was not well off, not even back in the day when I was married to him, and certainly not now.

When he was working (paperhanger/decorator) he used to hang out with the sort of people that wore jumpers that said Armani (typically "designer" label knock-off clothes they got "dahn the market" kind of thing) but were almost certainly moody, so I don't think this is a real one, but I don't know how to tell.

Can someone please tell me.

I assume there will be some way (writing on the back of authentic ones?) - this one just says something about Daytona on the back - but when I google it, it just comes up with loads of links to probably shitty websites of moody ones anyway.

So now I will probably get stupid watch advertising in my email and all over my FB feed, but I need to know as I do not want to chuck this away without knowing for sure, in case I can put it in hock it to pay for his damn funeral.

Thanks.

pepperami
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 23:49 - 29 Mar 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you smell a rat, the chances are it’s a rat.

You could take it to a reputable jeweller???