Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

VanVan, Grass Tracker, TW 125/200

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Freddierf85
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 13:49 - 09 Apr 2020    Post subject: VanVan, Grass Tracker, TW 125/200 Reply with quote

Hi All,

I've searched high and low before posting, but can only find scraps of relevant information. Please help with your wisdom!

I'm 34, needing a commuter bike because my wife needs the car with our first child. So I'll be doing approx. 30 miles per day, 5 days a week. I'll do my A2 test, and don't need anything more so please don't suggest the DAS!

I need something super reliable (I'm a teacher, so mechanic ability very limited!), budget ideally £2,000 maybe slightly more at a push. I really don't care about speed or racing ability - classic style and reliability for me please!

I don't want something boring or generic. I love the look of:

Suzuki Van van 125 or 200
Yamaha TW 125
Suzuki Grass Tracker TU250
Kawasaki 250TR
Honda FTR223

I know the Kawasaki and Honda are both only available as imports, so this may rule them out in terms of price/finding parts?

Anything else that has similar style, I'm all ears.

Help and suggestions massively appreciated!

Cheers,

Freddie

Riejufixing
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:14 - 09 Apr 2020    Post subject: Re: VanVan, Grass Tracker, TW 125/200 Reply with quote

Freddierf85 wrote:
I'll do my A2 test

Not for a couple of months at least. What licence have you right now?

Tdibs
Traffic Copper

PostPosted: 14:16 - 09 Apr 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I had a VanVan125 as my first bike so I can shed some light on that one a little.