Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Learning to drive after learning motorcycle first?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

BananaLover
Borekit Bruiser

PostPosted: 20:03 - 20 Apr 2020    Post subject: Learning to drive after learning motorcycle first? Reply with quote

Hey, I've been riding a bike for 4 years and I'm yet to drive a car for the first time. I was planning on getting some lessons to kick it off before the quarantine started and was scared to see that the average driver takes 25-30 lessons to pass. Curios are there any riders who learned to drive after they had their bike for a while? I imagine the road awareness alone should make it a lot less than a brand new driver.

Anybody got some numbers of how many lessons they had or expect someone like me to need?

Thanks

redeem ouzzer
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:05 - 20 Apr 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Didn’t find 8 years of riding a bike much help. Driving a car is much more difficult.

pepperami
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 20:30 - 20 Apr 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

I passed my bike test a few months before I passed my car test
I’ve been riding bikes in one form or another for years.

Car driving is about control of the vehicle and situational/road awareness., sounds abit like using a bike Thumbs Up

They are two different things with some similarities if that makes sense..

Riejufixing
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 20:37 - 20 Apr 2020    Post subject: Re: Learning to drive after learning motorcycle first? Reply with quote

BananaLover wrote:
Curios are there any riders who learned to drive after they had their bike for a while? I imagine the road awareness alone should make it a lot less than a brand new driver.

Anybody got some numbers of how many lessons they had or expect someone like me to need?