Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Total newbie- quickest route to DWYL

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

teach
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 00:43 - 23 Apr 2020    Post subject: Total newbie- quickest route to DWYL Reply with quote

I've read a alot of threads on hear and my apologies if I've missed the question I am about to ask.
I'm due to relocate to London and do not want to sit in a car on the M25. I'm looking at a Deauville as a sensible commuter bike.
What I am looking at is how quickly do you think I can reasonably/ sensible/safely get my licence.
I got my car licence in 1990.
I know I need my CBT, as a slightly unusual question is do I need a motorbike theory test or will a current driver theory test do? I passed my theory in November 2019 as I am a qualified driving instructor (cars).
Can I just go from CBT to booking a few lessons and booking my driving test. (DAS) Is this a very naive approach? Do I need to complete hours/miles on a motorbike before I apply for a bigger licence.
Cheers

Easy-X
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 01:41 - 23 Apr 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will need to do a minimum of a theory test + Mod 1 & 2. You don't have to do the CBT but most people ride about a bit on a 125 before going for a big-boy bike.

The fastest (but probably most expensive) is to do all-in-one intensive training + all the tests back to back. As you want to get straight on the M25 that's probably the way to go. (You don't need to "log hours" on a bike as such, I'm assuming you're over 24yo?)

TaffyTDM
Spanner Monkey

PostPosted: 06:56 - 23 Apr 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Easy-X wrote:
You will need to do a minimum of a theory test + Mod 1 & 2. You don't have to do the CBT but most people ride about a bit on a 125 before going for a big-boy bike.