Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Limitations for long distance travel on a scooter?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> General Bike Chat Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Adame
Two Stroke Sniffer

PostPosted: 11:27 - 08 Jun 2020    Post subject: Limitations for long distance travel on a scooter? Reply with quote

Hello all,

Since covid is going crazy and options for holidays are limited, a crazy idea of touring the UK on my Honda SH 125 came to my mind. (I betrayed motorcycles because of all the red lights in central London...)

I know a lot about motorcycles and have toured many countries (including all over SA Asia on a shitty 125), but I'm totally new to scooters/ mopeds.

My question is not about advice on doing it etc, but I have a very specific question of:

Are there any specific limitations/ problems/ issues/ things to look at/ etc. for scooters/moped when it comes to long distance travel I should know about (200/300miles a day?)? Or is it all the same as for traditional motorcycles?

thank you

ThunderGuts
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 11:39 - 08 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

200/300 miles a day sounds like a lot for touring on any machine (unless you're just trying to cover ground and are uninterested at looking at stuff), but you've done plenty of touring by the sounds of it so presumably are happy with lots of saddle time per day. In terms of scooter specifics, I don't have first hand knowledge but I'd imagine something to think about is ergonomics if you're spending many hours on one day in day out; can you shift position, how cramped are you etc.