Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

One bike for me (20 yrs rider) and wife

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

phoebus
Derestricted Danger

PostPosted: 09:30 - 07 Jul 2020    Post subject: One bike for me (20 yrs rider) and wife Reply with quote

Hi there,

I'm looking for a bike that would suit me (riding for 20 yrs) and my wife who's currently in riding school (finally Smile). I'm 184cm and she's 172cm.

I've been riding TDM 900 for about ten years not and it's been really reliable and practical - if it was just me, I'd just keep it for as long as it works OK). Before the kids (they're few years now), we traveled in two with three cases, as of lately I mostly use it for commuting and a short hilly ride here and there so it's really been a good all-rounder. I love its practicality (looks OK with top case, it's nimble around the city, it has loads of low-end torque).

Now, my wife is 172cm and is learning to ride on school's MT07. While I find TDM as easy to drive as a scooter, she finds it a bit intimidating. She's also been told (read: scared) that she should "only look for bikes" with ABS (mine doesn't have it) so she's even more scared of it Smile

So now to the question. We're considering replacing the bike with something with ABS that would be both practical and less intimidating to her, but still had enough (low-down, I'm not a high-rev driver) grunt for me...once you get used to power... Smile

If it would be just me I'd be looking for either a dual-sport or a classic naked bike but if TDM is intimidating to her, duals-sports are out as most are higher...