Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Which lightweight Naked bike for returning biker

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

barryd
Nova Slayer

PostPosted: 10:46 - 12 Jul 2020    Post subject: Which lightweight Naked bike for returning biker Reply with quote

Im not really a newbie but Ive not ridden anything big for decades apart from hire bikes on holidays etc.

Dont laugh (well you can) but my ride for years has been a Honda Vision 110cc which we cart around Europe on the back of a motorhome. During the Covid crisis I have used it a lot around the lanes and hills here (North York dales) and whilst its great to be out on two wheels its just not up to coping very well with the steep hills and I fancy something with a bit more ooomph I can chuck about a bit.

So long story shorter im thinking of getting a small naked A2 type bike for a bit of Dales (and maybe the Lakes) fun. I can ride anything on my licence but I really dont want something big and powerful.

So far my list is narrowed down to

KTM Duke 390
Kawazaki Z300
Yamaha MT03
Kawazaki Versys 300

Maybe the BMW 310 GS

Initially I really set my heart on the Duke 390 but lately the Z300 seems a better choice. A bit less Hooligan and in your face and the reports I have read seem favourable.

Ideally I would like to spend nearer £3k than £4k if for no other reason than I might stand a better chance of getting it approved by she who must be obeyed so the Z300 seems to tick that box more than the Duke.

Just after some opinions really. Which would be the most reliable, best ride etc.

The other issue I have is I live between Barnard Castle and Richmond and all the dealers that have these are miles away so I really want to narrow the field if possible before spending days travelling to find one.

Last edited by barryd on 14:31 - 12 Jul 2020; edited 1 time in total

pepperami
Super Spammer