Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

First time jacket, gloves and boots

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Nelly1980
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 21:17 - 31 Aug 2020    Post subject: First time jacket, gloves and boots Reply with quote

Hi guys! 1st ever post, so I’m a complete noob!

I’ve booked my theory and am doing my CBT in a couple of weeks. However, in this new COVID world, we obviously have to bring our own gear to CBT and further training etc.

Obviously, I’m a complete noob (but pushing 41... and wishing I’d done this years ago!!), and have no desires to go hurtling round a track, but I still want to get myself the best gear I can afford so that it lasts me. Initially, the primary use of the bike is commuting and day trips at weekends.

Think I’m sorted on the helmet - was looking at this:
https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/239320

So am now looking at jackets. I’m very much liking the sound of D3O armour, so looking for jackets that include it, but they are coming out pretty pricey... Just wondered if anybody had any recommendations? I know the jacket is important so am prepared to pay for quality, but I have no benchmark or reference point to know what’s expensive and what middle of the road.

Will also happily take any recommendations on gloves and boots!

Thanks all!

KiwiBob
Borekit Bruiser

PostPosted: 21:47 - 31 Aug 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went for this one .. but added a pinlock insert which works a treat. I prefer the quick release and don't like double d fastners...
https://www.sportsbikeshop.co.uk/motorcycle_parts/content_prod/280400

As for jacket and trousers I managed to pick up some quality gear second hand and hardly worn off facebook/marketplace. Saved a fortune.

Ayrton
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 21:59 - 31 Aug 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote