Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Deciding what bike to get

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

Zee_666
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:35 - 21 Dec 2020    Post subject: Deciding what bike to get Reply with quote

I have 2 options for my new 50cc bike when I turn 16
The first one is aprilia rs4 50 2 stroke which goes 60mph but the sounds awful for sports looking bike plus this one has 900 miles on it and it will cost me 3k to buy and the other option is a brand new yamasaki ym50-re 2020 that is a Chinese brand bike that will cost me 1.8k only but the looks of it are amazing its a 4 stroke 50cc the sound of the bike is amazing but it only goes 45mph top speed im also a beginner to riding so this will be my first bike
I NEED HELP CHOOSING WHICH ONE TO GET IM A NOOBIE
people say Chinese bikes are awful and they are not reliable is that true?

Evil Hans
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:42 - 21 Dec 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are those really the only two options?

Have you checked the insurance situation on the Yamasaki? I've heard that, given its limited import numbers, a lot of insurers don't list them. That was a while ago, the situation may have changed now.

ThunderGuts
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:53 - 21 Dec 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, technically anything capable of over 28mph is illegal at the age of 16; that's all sub-50cc class should be able to do. Anything capable of more than this "out of the box" you won't be able to insure, unless there's some way of restricting it (no idea how this works on a moped though or if it's even permissible).

Chinese bikes are generally better than they used to be; buy new and you'll suffer big depreciation, which is a big factor at your age because within 12 months you'll be looking at 125s and beyond.