Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

new rider - 50cc moped not starting - what to do?!

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

blue333333333...
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 11:39 - 12 Jan 2021    Post subject: new rider - 50cc moped not starting - what to do?! Reply with quote

Hello! Nice to meet you all.

I am very new to the world of motorcycles / mopeds and its a whole new world! I'm a cyclist by heart and experience but needed something with a little more power to get me to work. I also like a leisurely ride and to keep things simple so I bought a second hand 50cc Sinnis Street moped. It only had 474 miles and looked very new. Bought from a dealer on 18th Dec 2020 so not yet had it a full month and already am having some issues. When it runs, its lovely and I am converted!

It already had one repair, the day I took it away, it lost acceleration so I returned it immediately to the dealer and they repaired it. I've ridden it only a few times since and now it won't start at all. Its been very cold recently so that may have upset it a bit. It starts up but then dies. I was told that it sounds like the battery is dying / dead. The kickstand also doesn't work at all.

I'm not sure what to do as I've little experience in mechanics and dealing with garages and breakdown recovery. I am waiting to hear back from the trader as I would expect them to repair it as its still within its 30 days consumer rights period (plus I have a 3 month warranty) but I'm not sure how to get it to them. Do they have a duty to collect it? Alternatively, I'm guessing I need to get my breakdown recovery service to attend and take it.

Any advice or info gratefully received. Really sad not to be riding it Sad
at the moment.

Thanks!

Slowgirl Mr. Green

bikenut
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:06 - 12 Jan 2021    Post subject: Moped Reply with quote

Hi slow girl,