Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

LONG-TERM REVIEW: Zontes ZT 125 U

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Show & Tell Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Fat Angry Scotsman
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:47 - 12 Jan 2021    Post subject: LONG-TERM REVIEW: Zontes ZT 125 U Reply with quote

Well I am new to the world of motorcycles, I passed my full UK manual car test at 17 and it's now only at the age of 33 that I have got interested in motorcycling. I want to go on a long tour of some European countries once all this pandemic business has went away.

I just want to give people a long-term review on my first ever motorcycle: the Zontes ZT 125 U which I bought from Portman Motors Ltd in Glasgow for the princely sum of £2,999.00 on the road in November 2020.

Zontes is a brand name of the Chinese Manufacturer Guangdong Tayo Motorcycle Technology Co. Ltd and to be honest I hadn't heard of them as a brand before until I heard Riding Reviews on YouTube mention them. Before I considered the Zontes I had been eying up the Lexmoto LXR instead. All Zontes motorcycles are imported into the United Kingdom through Clements Moto Ltd.

When I was looking at motorbikes I knew I was going to be getting a 125cc not only because it's the only thing that you can ride on a CBT but also because I was going to use it as a commuter bike for 3 years. I see this bike as a tool and I never intended to have the bike for more than 3 years, as it is the period until it requires an MOT, I don't care if the bike is sold or scrapped, it's value to me is exhausted at that point. I also see the £2,999.00 as a sunk cost and as it paid off outright already I made the decision based on running costs of the bike versus commuting by my current car (Jaguar XF):

Running Costs (estimated):

Depreciation of Bike (amortisation of whole value over 36 months) = £83.31 pcm,