Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Going off road on a road bike?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Cycling Forum
 Topic moved: from Offroad & Supermoto to The Cycling Forum by stinkwheel (22 Mar 2021 - 22:27)
View previous topic : View next topic  

CormacBaptist...
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 22:55 - 22 Mar 2021    Post subject: Going off road on a road bike? Reply with quote

Good day! All of you.

I have been riding Trek 4500 for about 2 months now. Riding it is a joy and I have also done a ride of about 100km (my thighs are still sore after a week though). But about 80% of my normal commute is on tarmac roads and the more I ride, the more I get inclined towards buying a road bike. But the problem is, once in a while, I have to go a little bit of serious off roading. I am concerned abouthttps://nox.tips/ https://xender.vip/

Fragility of road bikes

What happens if I ride 5km on a road like this on a road bike?

According to my knowledge, switching from mountain to road increases efficiency upto 50%. Is this true?

When talking about going off roads on a road bike, most of the people say road bike 'cant handle it'. What do they exactly mean?

Last edited by CormacBaptiste on 10:15 - 23 Mar 2021; edited 1 time in total

stinkwheel
Bovine Proctologist

PostPosted: 23:35 - 22 Mar 2021    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on the bike.

Have you ever seen people doing cyclocross? That was originally done on totally bog standard road bikes.

"Back in the day", mountain biking was done on skinny 700C wheels and drop bars.

Have you seen Martyn Astons "Road Bike Party" video? On a carbon fibre Pinarello. Watch that, it should put your concerns to rest.
https://youtu.be/7ZmJtYaUTa0

If you are really concerned, there is a halfway house these days in the form of a "gravel bike" which is a road bike designed to be ridden on dirt tracks. Slightly heavier duty and slightly wider, flatter drop bars.