Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Direct access without training?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers
View previous topic : View next topic  

Jimbo12345
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 08:38 - 05 Apr 2021    Post subject: Direct access without training? Reply with quote

Hi all!

New to the forum, and I have a strange one for you all!

I’ve been riding motorcycles since I was 6 years of age, starting off on trials and motocross bikes, riding these from 6-16 years of age.

At age 16 i completed CBT and did a year on 50cc moped, then did a another year on an NSR125. I also learnt to drive during this year, and ended up going to university at 18, meaning I couldn’t afford to keep running a bike and car.

I’m 29 now and haven’t ridden on the road since, but actually done about 7000 miles of track riding over the past 10 years, on Yamaha R6 and GSXR600.

Therefore my question is, is it possible for me to book my module 1 and 2 tests, have my bike transported to the test centre, and sit the tests without going through a training provider?

I could do the module 1 manoeuvres with my eyes closed and know the roads around my test centre like the back of my hand.

My thoughts are, even if I was to fail mod 2 a couple of times (personally I don’t think I would), this would still save considerable time and money over a direct access course.

Thanks in advance!

Jimbo
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

ThatDippyTwat
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 08:57 - 05 Apr 2021    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possible? Yes, use the .gov website.
Advisable? No. Even without the insurance issues (this will get asked about if you're not with a training school). Track riding is not anything akin to road riding.