Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Direct access training

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

Freddyfruitba...
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 19:10 - 15 May 2021    Post subject: Direct access training Reply with quote

My lad is currently riding a 125 on L-plates and wants to progress to his full 'A' licence ASAP. He's looking at a training school for this summer, who reckon he'll probably need 5 days to get him through MOD 1 and MOD 2, and rather than do this as a 'block' they are saying he should come in for a day here, a day there to do the training.

Personally I have no experience of this stuff, having passed my own test 40 years ago simply by riding twice around the block, but what do people think of this plan? I'd have thought that he'd be better off turning up at the training centre, moving to a big bike and practising on that till he's passed his tests? Isn't it going to be really off-putting going back to pootling around on his 125 for another week or so before returning for another day's training on a big bike?

Interested to hear other's experiences.

trevor saxe-coburg-gotha
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 19:35 - 15 May 2021    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not in my experience it isn't. Get some advice and guidance for the Mods 1 and 2, go back and practice stuff - albeit on a 125. Let's be honest, the only difference is the weight. Best not to understate this too much, but I simply mean that a 125 and 600 are - for the purposes of the Mod 1, and most of the Mod 2, not that different. It's not like you can open the 600 up and cane fvck out of it.