Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Mechanic mess up...Yamaha FZS600 Fazer 2002

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

LauraPickles
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 18:21 - 17 May 2021    Post subject: Mechanic mess up...Yamaha FZS600 Fazer 2002 Reply with quote

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting on a bike forum so forgive me if I’ve gone about this the wrong way... I recently bought a Yamaha FZS600 Fazer, 2002. The bike started first time, I was happy enough but then the next day it wouldn’t start. Did the usual checks myself but I couldn’t see what the problem was so got the mechanics to look at it. They they told me the bike had a whole host of problems and it might be best contacting the seller & trying to get my money back or sorting something out with him. This wasn’t an option as I had the bike delivered from England, so the bike was left with the mechanics to fix. They told me the main problem was with the head gasket which had blown, or failed I’m not sure what it’s called but it needed skimmed. I paid £750 for the bike and £1,200 for the mechanics. That work involved:-

Skimming the cylinder heads/gasket
Rear brake master cylinder replacement/rebuild
Replaced speedo & sensor
New pistons
Spark plugs
New Rear break pads

Not sure exactly what other work was done but this is what I discussed with them and is listed on the invoice, there’s a few other bits on the invoice but I haven’t a clue what they are.