Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Knowing which bikes are good//bad

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> New Bikers Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

JSing
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:24 - 23 Jun 2021    Post subject: Knowing which bikes are good//bad Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

I'm very new to motorbikes. I've booked my CBT, but am overwhelmed with the choice of gear and bikes to choose from. However, I'm mainly after some advice and discussion on various makes to explore (looking at 125cc btw) and ones to steer clear of. The main ones I've seen are Honda CB, KTM Duke, Lexomoto, and SYM. But given there's so many choices, what would you suggest? Most of my journeys will be short but some will be on A roads given that I live in the midlands in a small city surrounded by much farmland.

(Equally refer me to another forum that address this, don't want to waste your time)

Thanks for you help!

A100man
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:29 - 23 Jun 2021    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chinese - bad (mostly)

Japanese - good

KTM - expensive

Then: Fizz, RS200, KL250, XJ550, Laverda Alpina, XJ600, FZS600

ThunderGuts
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:35 - 23 Jun 2021    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to BCF. Smile

You'll doubtless get a whole load of advice. Gear is pretty subjective; if you have the budget, get yourself to a decent shop and try stuff on. Fit is important. Textile trousers and jacket (ideally that zip together), good height boots, gloves and a helmet that fits well (get the shop to guide you) are what you want. £400-500 will get you this at a reasonable standard.