Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Turning an old work laptop into a new personal one

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Geek Zone Goto page 1, 2  Next
View previous topic : View next topic  

arry
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 08:56 - 30 Mar 2023    Post subject: Turning an old work laptop into a new personal one Reply with quote

I'm not very tech savvy but I'm hoping someone can help me.

I've got a nice little Dell laptop that belongs to an ex employer of mine. It's been sat in its box for two years now waiting for them to send a courier to pick it up, and after months of chasing, they've just fobbed me off.

So I guess it's mine now. I'd like to get it set up for me.

It's got BitLocker on it and I can't remember the BitlLocker password. Even if I could, I'm not sure I want to sign in past it because I wouldn't want them picking it up on the network somehow and assuming I'm trying to access their data. I don't even know if that's a thing?!

Anyway, I guess the question is - is it possible to do a wipe and reinstall a fresh Windows OS and use it as my own laptop?

Ta Smile
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

panrider_uk
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 09:30 - 30 Mar 2023    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you just do a clean install of Windows it will wipe the existing partitions so Bitlocker encryption shouldn't be a problem.

Even if you remembered the Bitlocker password the pc would probably still be in the old company's domain so best to do a clean install really.

I'd take the opportunity to install a SSD if it doesn't already have one - it will perform much better.

Last edited by panrider_uk on 14:13 - 30 Mar 2023; edited 1 time in total

arry
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 09:43 - 30 Mar 2023    Post subject: Reply with quote

panrider_uk wrote: