Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

CBF125 - No rear light

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

nsushi33
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 12:38 - 19 May 2023    Post subject: CBF125 - No rear light Reply with quote

Hi all,

I have come to end of my patience with this bike, lol. So, I bought a 2012 CBF125 for my son which has a problem with it's rear running light. At first I thought it was the stator or regulator, so I have replaced those and still nothing (turns out the stator did need replacing anyway as one of the coils was burnt out). The headlight and instrument lights are all operational, just not the taillight - it works fine through the brake. I am a novice at best with regards to electrics, and after watching many youtube videos I have worked out that the circuit from the regulator to all of the bulbs is producing -6v and -6 amps. All the little bulbs in the instrument cluster work fine (no doubt because they require less wattage) and I changed the bulb. I'm on the verge of bypassing the light with one of the little ones just so it works.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Nobby the Bastard
Harley Gaydar

PostPosted: 12:45 - 19 May 2023    Post subject: Reply with quote

Find the connectors for the back lighht that are quite close to it and swap the brake light power feed with therear light one.

Does the rear light now come on when yoou use the brake or is the brake light on continuously?

nsushi33
L Plate Warrior

PostPosted: 13:45 - 19 May 2023    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nobby the Bastard wrote:
Find the connectors for the back lighht that are quite close to it and swap the brake light power feed with therear light one.

Does the rear light now come on when yoou use the brake or is the brake light on continuously?