Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Fix bike ?.... or sell as is ?...

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

JodieWodie
Reflective Banana

PostPosted: 11:32 - 20 Nov 2004    Post subject: Fix bike ?.... or sell as is ?... Reply with quote

HI all....

If you don't know, I crashed my bike on Thursday morning...then passed my test Thursday afternoon Thumbs Up
dilemma....

I WAS intending to put my bike up for sale the very MINUTE I passed (she is a 2004 Honda CG125)...but she has a bit of damage now.

As I am fairly new to this game...I wanted your advice whether to patch her up...or sell as is ?...

The damage is MINOR..but I don't know if it will be worth my while.

Damage...
Arrow dented and scraped chrome trim on headlight;
Arrow scuffed left footpeg;
Arrow really scuffed clutch;
Arrow really scuffed left bar end;
Arrow scuffed and slightly dented front of the black instrument casing).

I am hoping to get about £1,400 for the bike...
shall I bother repairing minor scrapes like that ?
Any ideas of parts costs ?

Thanks a lot in advance for any help...

Jo xx

instigator
Super Spammer

PostPosted: 13:19 - 20 Nov 2004    Post subject: Re: Fix bike ?.... or sell as is ?... Reply with quote

JodieWodie wrote:

Arrow dented and scraped chrome trim on headlight;
Arrow scuffed left footpeg;
Arrow really scuffed clutch;
Arrow really scuffed left bar end;
Arrow scuffed and slightly dented front of the black instrument casing).

Trim on headlight - Maybe about £20
Scuffed footpeg - £10 at the most!!!!!
clutch - £5, get one from breakers or on ebay.
bar end - £5 get a new pair of bar ends for the cg, they don't have to be originals
Instrument casing - Probably a bit more expensive if you were to buy new from honda, again try ebay or breakers.

I'd leave the instrument casing and chrome trim myself, but scour ebay to see what parts go for. It could be worth it, moneywise Smile