Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

not the usual paint question.

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Workshop
View previous topic : View next topic  

plugger147
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 15:16 - 27 Apr 2005    Post subject: not the usual paint question. Reply with quote

I currently have my bike in bit's i've rubbed down and primed most of the frame,swingarm wheels,headlight subframe etc.i'm thinking of painting these bit's with hamerite aerosols and am wondering what the finish,durability would be like?
Is there a better alternative that anyone knows of(powder coating's a bike expensive).
i just want a clean tidy bike that's not gonna start rusting in a years time.

gsxrpeak
Trackday Trickster

PostPosted: 16:40 - 27 Apr 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

im not an expert but i beleve that hammerite is pretty tuff shi* and it will surtanly prevent rusting if used properly! Thumbs Up
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

plugger147
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 16:49 - 27 Apr 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

cheers mate i thought as much,I've rubbed out 99% of the surface rust,treaded an awkward bits with rust treatment then primed most of it so i think the prep works pretty good,just don't wanna mess up with the wrong paint.

mchaggis
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:11 - 27 Apr 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do look at Smoothrite, made by the same company. I don't know about you, but I'd prefer a smooth finish compared to a hammered effect finish on my bike frame.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

mr jamez
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 22:30 - 27 Apr 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote