BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Brake pads

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> Random Banter
View previous topic : View next topic  

TOM M
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 02:38 - 17 Feb 2006    Post subject: Brake pads Reply with quote

How hard is it to fit new front brake pads to a vauxhall nova?, as mine desperatly need changing!!!

And would be be easier to get a garage to fit them and approx how much £??

Cheers

Rookie
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 02:41 - 17 Feb 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the brake pads themselves, you're looking at around £60 for an entire set? From eBay, I'd recommend. As for the fitting, I wouldn't attempt it myself, but I'm not an accomplished mechanic. It would involve some moderately difficult mechanics. If in doubt, buy a Haynes. They definitely cover the process you want to do.

R6jonny
Nearly there...

PostPosted: 02:49 - 17 Feb 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are just changing front pads it should be fairly simple i would think

Changed the pads on my Corsa the other day and it just takes a bit of patience. Cant see the Nova/Corsa being that different although i may be wrong

Wheel off , undo a couple of bolts to remove the caliper and slide out the pads, new ones slot straight in, push the piston back in and re-assemble.

It did help however having my old man telling me how to do it as its the first time i have done car pads.

FYI a set of pads for the corsa were £23 all in from a motor factors

I wouldnt get a garage to do them unless you are totally unsure of what to do as its a bit of a waste of money

out of interest what sort of area you in ??
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

TOM M
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 02:51 - 17 Feb 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im just outside Stafford Thumbs Up

Must be a thing with me and brakes at the mo as the car ones need changing and the brake fluid needs changing on the zxr Sad

Rookie