Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

Publishing ecommerce website - can I still edit after?!

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Geek Zone
View previous topic : View next topic  

biker-dj
Spanner Monkey

PostPosted: 23:24 - 03 Mar 2006    Post subject: Publishing ecommerce website - can I still edit after?! Reply with quote

Hi all
I have hijacked OH's user name again as I am still quite confused Confused with my website and it's imminent publishing - you may have seen a previous post by Biker-DJ re Web hosting for e-commerce, well I've found and signed up with an appropriate host and have bought ClickCartPro s/ware, but I now have another problem. Rolling Eyes
I am a total newbie, so please forgive my lack of tech-speak! I have almost finished building my ecommerce website using FP2k, and need to install a shopping cart (ClickCartPro) because the Paypal cart I was using couldn't handle inventory control.
So - I have my FP site (not yet live) which still needs a few tweaks and the hyperlinks re-doing to link my pages to the new cart, I have my hosting/domain name all set up (using Linux with FPE) and I have the cart software downloaded but not yet linked to my site.
If you are still with me, what I need to know is this - to put the s/cart into my web, I apparently have to have already published my site. But I am scared of doing this, as it is no way finished, and it is going to take a couple of weeks to fill the shopping cart and integrate it into my FP site. If I publish, will people be able to a)see what I am doing "live" (eg all my blunders!) and b)attempt to buy goods before I am ready?! Also, will I still be able to edit my site once it is running live, and if so, how? Could I just publish a "Site Under Construction" page - would that be sufficient to allow the cart to be installed onto my site and prevent the looking/buying problem?