Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums

thinkin of investing in my myself.

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Geek Zone
View previous topic : View next topic  

Deano
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 21:29 - 23 May 2006    Post subject: thinkin of investing in my myself. Reply with quote

i currently work as a 1st line support analyst for an it company.

im starting to think about doing some module at least for my mcp as I think it will greatly enhance my careeer prospect for the future.

now i havent really looked around yet but doe anyone know what I should be expecting to be pay for training/books/exams etc.

I also work shifts so i would need to fit studying around my akward hours.

thanks
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

kawakid
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 10:32 - 24 May 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

It depends on the firm, my firm wants experience not MCSCEs.

However I don know a mate did the MCSCEs and he basicaly downloaded all the courses off the net and sat loads of fake tests.

He then booked himself for the exams, I think each examine cost him something like £100 and he sat quite a few of them.

Its true some firms ask for it, but by no means does it make you an expert, real world experience is the key.

My mate who earns the most in IT, didn't even go to UNI, he left school at 18 at worked his way up.

I did the uni route, but thats not a good way either unless it combines with a year out and real experience.

Thus if I were you I would be downloading courses etc off the net and practicing.

Liam_
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 12:51 - 24 May 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

do an Advanced ECDL, companies will be climbing all over each other to hire you Thumbs Up

Deano
World Chat Champion

PostPosted: 14:23 - 24 May 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote