Resend my activation email : Register : Log in 
BCF: Bike Chat Forums


Dodgy wifi or dodgy ISP?

Reply to topic
Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Geek Zone
View previous topic : View next topic  
Author Message

Freddyfruitba...
World Chat Champion



Joined: 20 May 2016
Karma :

PostPosted: 12:23 - 07 Jun 2020    Post subject: Dodgy wifi or dodgy ISP? Reply with quote

I quite often find that my home wifi and/or fixed-connection internet speed goes really slow or intermittent. Sometimes helped by turning everything off-and-on-again, sometimes not; and I suspect the main cause may be the actual signal which is coming into the house as opposed to problems inside the house.

This is probably a really numpty question, but how can I quickly and easily assess the ISP's signal and determine whether it's that or something else, under my control? It's particularly a PITA because the signal on my devices very rarely stops, it just slows down, which makes it harder to pinpoint.

FWIW I'm on Virgin, with a BT Whole Home mesh wifi network hooked up the Virgin modem.
____________________
KC100->CB100N->CB250RS--------->DL650AL2->R1200RS
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

bugeye_bob
World Chat Champion



Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Karma :

PostPosted: 15:58 - 07 Jun 2020    Post subject: Re: Dodgy wifi or dodgy ISP? Reply with quote

Freddyfruitbat wrote:
I quite often find that my home wifi and/or fixed-connection internet speed goes really slow or intermittent. Sometimes helped by turning everything off-and-on-again, sometimes not; and I suspect the main cause may be the actual signal which is coming into the house as opposed to problems inside the house.

This is probably a really numpty question, but how can I quickly and easily assess the ISP's signal and determine whether it's that or something else, under my control? It's particularly a PITA because the signal on my devices very rarely stops, it just slows down, which makes it harder to pinpoint.

FWIW I'm on Virgin, with a BT Whole Home mesh wifi network hooked up the Virgin modem.

Is this after long periods of not using the internet?
My mate is on Virgin and as he works away and doesn't use the internet at home for long periods, his speed gets throttled to a slow speed, he has to call them up and it goes back to 200 meg or something close.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

duhawkz
World Chat Champion



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Karma :

PostPosted: 16:29 - 07 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

first step would be to conduct a speed test, with the a computer connected via cable directly to the router. To see if you're getting the advertised speed for you line.

use speedtest.net or https://speedtest.btwholesale.com

then try it again when its slowing down to see if your line speed has dropped.
____________________
"The guy is a worthless cunt and I honestly believe I would be a slightly happier person if he died." - Chris-Red
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

xX-Alex-Xx
Scooby Slapper



Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Karma :

PostPosted: 17:12 - 07 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to rule out WiFi, connect your laptop to the router with a network cable.

My wifeís parents are on Virgin, and after seeing their performance I wouldnít touch them with a barge pole. Yes they advertise the fastest speeds, but from what Iíve seen their internet drops for a least a few minutes a few times every day.

My VDSL with plusnet is ďonlyĒ 70Mb/s but Iíve had literally zero downtime (that Iíve noticed) and thatís impressive considering I work from home and rely on it all day.
____________________
Current: GSR-750
Past: GSX-R 1000, CBR 929 Fireblade, CBR 600 F4i.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

Paddy.
Red Rocket



Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Karma :

PostPosted: 20:55 - 07 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

xX-Alex-Xx wrote:
but from what Iíve seen their internet drops for a least a few minutes a few times every day..


Well you've seen a very odd case that they should look in to. Fibre doesn't work like that and if it did it would be widely affecting a bunch of folk.

Virgin are not bad in the slightest, their boxes are. Only thing it's good for is modem only mode. Do that.
____________________
Current ride : Suzuki GSXR1000 L0 My biking history so far
Rogerborg wrote: Whole life care for a VTR full of quadraspazzed Darrryls and Shoniq'uas cost mad dollah.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

Hong Kong Phooey
World Chat Champion



Joined: 30 Apr 2016
Karma :

PostPosted: 12:55 - 26 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Plenty of shitty routers used by ISPs.

Buggy wifi, old firmware, causing slow speeds or dropped connections. Changing for the same model sometimes helps, other times mithering them to push for a better router does it.
____________________
'81 CG125, '97 FZS600 : '99 CBR600F4, '09 KTM RC8
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

Polarbear
Super Spammer



Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Karma :

PostPosted: 16:05 - 26 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

If we are talking about providers, at the moment I am on BT with about 40mbps.

Vodafone have installed fibre in our street and are advertising much faster and cheaper. Does anyone actually know if they are any good bearing in mind I've never had any problems with BT other than the price.
____________________
Triumph Trophy Launch Edition
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail You must be logged in to rate posts

xX-Alex-Xx
Scooby Slapper



Joined: 12 Sep 2019
Karma :

PostPosted: 17:37 - 26 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polarbear wrote:
If we are talking about providers, at the moment I am on BT with about 40mbps.

Vodafone have installed fibre in our street and are advertising much faster and cheaper. Does anyone actually know if they are any good bearing in mind I've never had any problems with BT other than the price.


Steer clear of Vodafone. Itís great when it works, but they leave you for days if anything goes wrong. Bills will go up at least 10 quid a month more than what you signed up by the end of your contract. They also tag random charges on when you want to leave, hoping you wonít notice.
____________________
Current: GSR-750
Past: GSX-R 1000, CBR 929 Fireblade, CBR 600 F4i.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

panrider_uk
World Chat Champion



Joined: 23 Sep 2007
Karma :

PostPosted: 18:39 - 27 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use Vodafone for home (business) broadband) and it's fine.

I have the ocasional dropout from the router (had that with BT and Talktalk before them so they're all crap in that respect) but have my own good router to install when I find my round tuit.

Speeds are good and price is good.

Our leased line at work is provided by NTE and runs over Vodafone's network.

Good speeds on that too (as you'd expect on a leased line), very reliable and several thousand £ a year cheaper than BT.
____________________
Current bike: Honda ST1100
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

duhawkz
World Chat Champion



Joined: 03 Dec 2006
Karma :

PostPosted: 22:38 - 28 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've had vodafone fibre for a couple of years now, I haven't had issues with it.

I think I'm paying around £33 a month for 76mb fibre and evening and weekend calls
____________________
"The guy is a worthless cunt and I honestly believe I would be a slightly happier person if he died." - Chris-Red
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts

McHattrick
Nova Slayer



Joined: 30 Nov 2018
Karma :

PostPosted: 23:37 - 28 Jun 2020    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polarbear wrote:
If we are talking about providers, at the moment I am on BT with about 40mbps.

Vodafone have installed fibre in our street and are advertising much faster and cheaper. Does anyone actually know if they are any good bearing in mind I've never had any problems with BT other than the price.

I have been with BT for years and they are generally pretty good.
I got a call from them earlier in the year with an offer to upgrade to fibre and it was working out about same as I was already paying (phone and internet). so how could i refuse.
They threw in one of their extenders which is brilliant. We now have coverage all over top floor (I previously used Netgear extender but it is not a patch on BTs).
We are running 2 x PS4, streaming Netflix, 2 or 3 PCs, tablets.. all at same time without a blip.
Worth a call.. suggest you are thinking about changing ISP..
____________________
If it aint broke... fix 'til it is.
 Back to top
View user's profile Send private message You must be logged in to rate posts
Display posts from previous:   

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bike Chat Forums Index -> The Geek Zone All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum

Read the Terms of Use! - Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group
 

Debug Mode: ON - Server: enterprise (www) - Page Generation Time: 2.05 Sec - Server Load: 2.19 - MySQL Queries: 16 - CDN Objects: 41 - Page Size: 73.5 Kb